Shackles & bushings

...und natürlich auch BJ, J2 und J3...also 1951 - 1986
Antworten
arutgers
Shackles & bushings

Beitrag von arutgers »

This week I replaced the rear shackles & bushings with greasable ones, hoping to smoothen the ride. While removing the old shackles I noted the nuts were very tight, causing a lot of friction between the shackle and the bushings (the bushings were damaged).
I installed the new shackles/bushings and tightened the nuts loosely, and put on another nut to secure the first one. So the shackle can move without friction.
Then the test-drive ... great; much better (though it will  never be a modern PKW).
Because I'm not a mechanical wizard, I do have a question: is it safe with the nuts tightened loosely? Will there be more wear? Other disadvantages?

Thanks in advance,

Ton
1978 BJ40 B-engine

Link:
BBcode:
HTML:
Hide post links
Show post links
Laplander
Shackles & bushings

Beitrag von Laplander »

Hi Ton,

I did change my springs last summer and did the same operation.  Normally the bolts should not be too tight, but certainly tight enough. If you tighten the bolt hard the plate should go on the shoulder of the bolt. By letting the plates loose you might have some metal stress and erosion. If the bushings are too tight, they can be shaved a bit. Or maybe they are not in there properly. Remember they will take some time to settle in, too. I would wait and check them after some 2000 km, if the bolts show weird wear...  Anyway, then it will be time to tighten the bolts once again, since everything will be settled in and too loose bolts will become apparent.

I just checked on my HJ-61, they are just loose enough not to squeeze the rubber.  If you give me your e-mail address (or write to me, see my webpages for the address), I will send you a picture...